, ,

Summer Surf Success

By Minka Nelson, President of Ko Molokai Keiki `O Ke Kai

On behalf of Ko Molokai Keiki `O Ke Kai and the Summer Surf Series
2010, thank you to everyone who donated, volunteered, participated and helped make Keiki Surf such a success this year. To all the parents, thank you, you can be proud of your young surfers. We look forward to seeing all of you next year, so mark your calendars for June 2011. There is a DVD of the event available for purchase thanks to Daniel at Akaku that will air later this year. Thank you to MCSC and Friendly Isle United Fund, our main underwriter, for your ongoing support of this great event.

The keiki got some great prizes this year — thanks to donors Jeff and Crystal Igusa at Friendly Market Center, Kim at Kamoi Snack ‘n’ Go, Kumau Pineda at Tropical Blends Surf, Subway Molokai, Kualapu`u Cookhouse, Liz Jackson, Jill Laffin/Awesome Blossom Maui, Julie Bicoy and MVA, Greg at G & M Variety, Jerry at Molokai Surf, Kam Kasuals, Ilima Partners, Zog Indust., Fiberglass Hawaii, Surf Line Hawaii, Surfing The Nations, Quiksilver, Volcom, Hurley, BK West, Local Motion, Hi-Tech and Quiet Storm Maui.

There are many volunteers who worked behind the scenes and helped tremendously — the Charles Lindsey ohana, Tim O’Shaughnessy for the custom trophies, the Miguel ohana, Curtis Crabbe at Molokai Port-a-Potties, Lani Sawyer for the shirts, The Molokai Dispatch, Peter Angelsea, Malia and Kainani Waits, Jessica Kalawe, Caulin Nelson-Angelsea, Ehiku Arnold, Joan Howard, Helen and Diona Henderson, Alan Bolton, Gail Parish, Gordy and Sharon Peirce, Genesis Lodise, Alicia Montemayor, Claire Mawae, Ikaika and Johnathan.

Last, but not least, a big mahalo to all our judges — Dan Bennet, Jeff Parish, Dick Wheeler, Mark Shima and Brian Lentz.

I hope we remembered everyone, but if not, thank you! You know who you are. Congratulations to all of the keiki surfers…keep surfing and we’ll see you next summer!


Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.