, , , ,

Maui County Gets Natural Disaster Designation

USDA News Release

The U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) has designated Maui County and Kalawao County as a primary natural disaster area due to losses caused by a an ongoing drought that began January 1, 2012, and continues.

“Assistance at this point and time is critically important for producers in Hawaii, especially in helping them keep their farmland healthy for the remainder of the year,” said Agriculture Secretary Tom Vilsack. “President Obama and I realize that during this time of disaster, federal assistance will be needed until conditions improve and farmers strive to recover from their losses.”

All qualified farm operators in the designated areas are eligible for low interest emergency (EM) loans from USDA’s Farm Service Agency (FSA), provided eligibility requirements are met. Farmers have eight months from May 7 to apply for loans to help cover part of their actual losses. FSA will consider each loan application on its own merits, taking into account the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability. FSA has a variety of programs, in addition to the EM loan program, to help eligible farmers recover from adversity.

Additional information is also available online at disaster.fsa.usda.gov.


Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.