, , ,

County Boards and Commissions Open for Applications

Maui County News Release

Applications are now being accepted for County of Maui boards, councils, commissions and committees. Responsibilities include hearing public testimony, reviewing policies and standards and making recommendations. On Molokai, the Molokai Planning Commission has openings and requires applicants.

Positions are appointed by the Mayor, confirmed by the County Council and have terms lasting two to five years. While no monetary compensation is provided for serving on a board or commission, the public’s participation helps provide an important government service. Anyone interested in serving on a Board or Commission may apply online at mauicounty.gov/Boards. The deadline for applications is Dec. 31, 2013.

Applications should be mailed to: Mayor Alan Arakawa, County of Maui, 200 South High Street, Ninth Floor, Wailuku, HI 96793, or faxed to (808) 270-7870.

Applications are being accepted for:

  • Affirmative Action Advisory Council
  • Animal Control Board
  • Board of Ethics
  • Board of Variances and Appeals
  • Board of Water Supply
  • Civil Service Commission
  • Commission on Persons with Disabilities
  • Committee on the Status of Women
  • Cost of Government Commission
  • Council on Aging
  • Cultural Resources Commission
  • Fire and Safety Commission
  • Hana Advisory Committee
  • Kula Agricultural Park Committee
  • Lana`i Planning Commission
  • Liquor Control Adjudication Board
  • Liquor Control Commission
  • Maui County Arborist Committee
  • Maui Planning Commission
  • Maui Redevelopment Agency
  • Molokai Planning Commission
  • Police Commission
  • Public Works Commission
  • Real Property Tax Review Board
  • Salary Commission
  • Urban Design Review Board
  • Workforce Investment Board

For more information, call the Office of the Mayor at (808) 270-7855 or visit


Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.