, ,

Apply Now for County Boards, Councils and Commissions

County of Maui News Release

Mayor Alan Arakawa announced today that applications are still being accepted for Boards, Councils, Commissions and Committees. The deadline for applications has been extended to this Friday, Jan. 14, 2011.

Responsibilities include hearing public testimony, reviewing policies and standards and
making recommendations. Positions are appointed by the Mayor, confirmed by the County Council and have terms lasting two to five years. Although, there is no monetary compensation associated with serving on a Board or Commission, your participation will provide for a better form of government. If you are interested in serving on a Board or Commission, applications are available online at www.mauicounty.gov.

Applications are being accepted for:
Affirmative Action Advisory Council
Animal Control Board
Board of Code Appeals
Board of Ethics
Board of Variances and Appeals
Board of Water Supply
Civil Service Commission
Commission on Children and Youth
Commission on Culture and the Arts
Commission on Naming Streets, Parks and Facilities
Commission on Persons with Disabilities
Committee on the Status of Women
Cost of Government Commission
Council on Aging
Cultural Resources Commission
Fire and Safety Commission
Hana Advisory Committee
Kula Agricultural Park Committee
Lanai Planning Commission
Liquor Control Adjudication Board
Liquor Control Commission
Maui County Arborist Committee
Maui County Grants Review Committee
Maui Planning Commission
Maui Redevelopment Agency
Molokai Planning Commission
Outdoor Lighting Standards Committee
Police Commission
Real Property Tax Review Board
Salary Commission
Subdivision Engineering Standards Committee
Traffic Safety Council
Urban Design Review Board
Volunteer Advisory Board
Wastewater Community Working Group
Workforce Investment Board

Applications must be mailed by Jan. 14, 2011 to: Mayor Alan Arakawa, County of Maui, 200 South High Street, Ninth Floor, Wailuku, HI 96793, or faxed to
(808) 270-7870.

For more information, call the Office of the Mayor at (808) 270-7855 or visit


Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.